Reviews

7.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.6
Property location
8.6
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.4
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Lai
    sg

    Review score

    10
    11 June 2018

    The most value for money accomodation in my 14 days in Japan. My whole family loves this place.

    Nothing. Everything is perfect.
    The service level of the staff was excellent. They went beyond was what expected to drop us off at the train station at an odd timing.
    Mei Ling
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    8 June 2018
    Breakfast was not as good as advertised, the staff seemed to have a problem when we asked for no rice and no fish.
    Enjoyed the onsen and loved the location, very close to the temples and shrines. The staff on duty when we checked out was very attentive and walked us all the way to the road to wait for the free shuttle. Appreciated the hospitality she showed us.
    sg

    Review score

    10
    1 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tidawan Brunner
    ch

    Review score

    10
    29 May 2018
    Right next to the temple, old style antique and very traditional... the staff are age and really kind ... food was excellent.. we love everything and definitely go back again !!!
    Skye
    ca

    Review score

    10
    29 May 2018

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Facility is a little old but well maintained and clean.

    Excellent staff and location.
    pl

    Review score

    9.6
    27 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Johan
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    25 May 2018

    Excellent ryokan a stone's throw from Nikko's shrines and temples

    No complaints!
    Excellent traditional ryokan just 5 minutes' walk from Nikko's shrines and temples, and there was a shuttle bus to and from the station - super convenient. In addition the staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
    Anne
    de

    Review score

    6.7
    24 May 2018
    Great location near the temples
    Banchong L.
    th

    Review score

    10
    16 May 2018

    Good onsen nearby Toshogu world heritage

    Good location, onsen, cleanliness
    be

    Review score

    9.6
    3 May 2018
    Although the accommodation and the rooms might seem a bit dated, we experienced a perfect service and enjoyed the excellent onsen.
    Jenny
    ph

    Review score

    10
    2 May 2018

    A place I'd like to come back to.

    Very kind and accomodating staff, spacious room, comfortable futons, nice onsen, delicious food, very good service, near or walking distance to major tourist spots.
    Shonya Singh
    nz

    Review score

    8.3
    30 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    25 April 2018

    A great place, and a very good location; within walking distance of the major shrines.

    We reserved a superior room and this was a great choice with two large rooms and a balcony. As usual, for Japan, the furnishing was minimalist but this is a very nice placee.
    Andrew
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    claudina
    fr

    Review score

    10
    21 April 2018

    MARVELOUS

    We just loved everything! The kindness of the staff, the traditional futon rooms, the meals! We'd like to come again!
    Berfu
    tr

    Review score

    9.6
    17 April 2018
    Nothing really
    I loved everything! A great location to Shrines and very good staff. Onsen and Karaoke are the bonuses. I enjoyed every minute
    ro

    Review score

    10
    18 June 2018
    traditional japanese inn, you are supposed to wear a yukata inside which they provide. they'll make your bed while you're out for dinner, sleep on tatami. worth visiting, have hot springs.
    Karen
    sg

    Review score

    10
    9 June 2018
    A relaxing stay here. It is very close to all the temples (5 min. walk) and tucked into the woods.The breakfast and dinner were delicious - worth adding on! The staff were helpful and considerate. The ryokan is nice because it's not too big, so has a cozy feel. The onsen is relaxing and not very crowded, even was the only one there twice.
    VALENTINA
    it

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2018

    Winderful treatment... i would have liked to stay more

    Whole staff was extra-nice! Place is very beautiful and clean and the outside onsen is divine. Room is very big and confortable.
    David
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    5 May 2018

    This traditional Ryokan with some modern amenities gives a very nice old-fashioned experience.

    Well, they really didn't have enough English to manage English-speaking guests. One older woman at the desk, cheery and energetic, managed, but she was also a can-do type. Several of the desk types were pretty passive.
    We liked the Onsen bath, even though tradition required us to be in separate pools and there was a short walk outside between the main building and the pool which was Cold and we weren't prepared for the first time. We liked the totally fascinating local-style meals, with dozens of unidentified morsels, many of them various pickles. And the location, 2 blocks from Toshogu Shrine and a 5-minute walk to the bus stop for Lake Chuzenji was perfect!
Loading reviews