Reviews

7.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.7
Property location
8.6
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.4
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Chris
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    25 April 2018

    A great place, and a very good location; within walking distance of the major shrines.

    We reserved a superior room and this was a great choice with two large rooms and a balcony. As usual, for Japan, the furnishing was minimalist but this is a very nice placee.
    Andrew
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    claudina
    fr

    Review score

    10
    21 April 2018

    MARVELOUS

    We just loved everything! The kindness of the staff, the traditional futon rooms, the meals! We'd like to come again!
    Berfu
    tr

    Review score

    9.6
    17 April 2018
    Nothing really
    I loved everything! A great location to Shrines and very good staff. Onsen and Karaoke are the bonuses. I enjoyed every minute
    Robert
    ae

    Review score

    10
    7 April 2018

    Great experience close to one of the most spectacular sites in Japan

    The onsen was really nice. The food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. The staff were very nice and accommodating for our family with a little child. We were transported to and from the JR station on time.
    ca

    Review score

    8.8
    5 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    be

    Review score

    7.9
    3 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ana
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    30 March 2018
    Can be a bit noisy early morning
    Good location for main site sightseeing of Nikko, Onsen is nice, we got a ride to the train station on our way back
    booking.com user
    jp

    Review score

    5.4
    28 March 2018
    The public bathroom is new but very dirty. The extra charge for public bathroom will be added when you check out.
    Very good location. Located close to Toushinguu Shrine, Shinkyou Red bridge, etc.
    Paula
    ca

    Review score

    7.9
    25 March 2018

    A great budget ryokan experience

    The family Onsen is very small and needs updating.
    The location is fantastic , a very pleasant walk to shrines and bridge. Loved the extras in the room, kimonos, tea and sweets.
    Arnaud
    fr

    Review score

    8.8
    25 March 2018
    Great place to stay and be in completely immersion with this sacred place in Japan. Perfect location (next to the temples ~6min walk to Toshogu), lovely and kind staff, delicious onsen included in the fees room (tatooed people accepted only after 9pm). We took the japanese breakfast, you can choose japanese or occidental style. Very tasty and plates changed from day to day ! We really enjoyed our stay and we really thank the staff. We highly recommend !
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    25 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Boon
    my

    Review score

    5.8
    21 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Oriana
    sg

    Review score

    7.5
    5 March 2018
    They don’t give additional towels if you left yours behind in the common bathroom. Quite a stickler. The counter staff were not exactly friendly.
    Food was good. The waitresses were very cheerful and service was great.
    Jacqueline GIan
    sg

    Review score

    8.3
    3 March 2018
    nil
    close to the heritage sites
    Maneerat
    th

    Review score

    8.8
    26 February 2018
    Food is too plain, but when compare with price - this hotel is worth the money.
    Location is great, near Toshogu Shrine within 5 minutes walk. You can park the car at the hotel and save 500 Yen for parking at Shrine. Hotel is up to standard of Japanese Ryokan. Staff is very friendly and allow us to park the car before check in and after check out. Room is clean. Futon is comfortable. Wifi is good.
    Umaphon
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    19 February 2018

    Their staff was the best!

    Their staff was the best!
    Sharon
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    16 February 2018

    A great place to stay with half board included.

    At first it was a bit hard to communicate with the hotel to arrange a shuttle from the station but we got the tourist information at Nikko Tobu station to ring for us. There is a timetable at the hotel to organise your return.
    The free shuttle service was excellent to and from the station. We ate at the Nikko Tokanso for breakfast and dinner and both were delicious. We ate the Japanese selection and observed others eating the western breakfast which was just as hearty. This place is not in the centre of town but ten minutes walk to the national park and the the bus stop but a lovely and quiet setting. The onsen is lovely as is the outdoor rotenburo. I would definitely recommend staying at this budget hotel as excellent value for money.
    Sara
    es

    Review score

    10
    16 February 2018

    excellent hotel and onsen!

    Beau Butler
    th

    Review score

    5.8
    9 February 2018

    A ryokan for first time tourist in Japan

    My first impression at this hotel was pretty bad. The night shift reception guy who came to pick me up at the train station was so careless. He didn't even smile or greet me like any Japanese in the service hospitality normally do, and forget even to help me carry my luggages even he saw how struggling I was with my stuff. The breakfast looked visually well presented, but there was no attention to the taste. This ryokan is more for the first time tourist in Japan who would like experience the traditional hotel in Japan. This place is a bit too commercial and lack the sense of the true ryokan.
    The ryokan was quite old, but they had all the basic facilities the ryokans have. The futon was quite comfortable. They also had a humidifier which made the room more breathable when I turned on the heater to sleep. They have 'Pepper-Run', the robotic receptionist to entertain guests while waiting for the bus or check out, which was quite adorable. I like the small details at their ryokan that they have the praying area for muslim guests. Although I'm not muslim but I was impressed by their thoughtful service. They even put your name on your meal and your room or even shoe rack.
Loading reviews