This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.0 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.7
Property location
8.6
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.4
Value
7.9
Reviews
    Sharon
    au
    8.8
    16 February 2018
    A great place to stay with half board included.
    At first it was a bit hard to communicate with the hotel to arrange a shuttle from the station but we got the tourist information at Nikko Tobu station to ring for us. There is a timetable at the hotel to organise your return.
    The free shuttle service was excellent to and from the station. We ate at the Nikko Tokanso for breakfast and dinner and both were delicious. We ate the Japanese selection and observed others eating the western breakfast which was just as hearty. This place is not in the centre of town but ten minutes walk to the national park and the the bus stop but a lovely and quiet setting. The onsen is lovely as is the outdoor rotenburo. I would definitely recommend staying at this budget hotel as excellent value for money.
    Sara
    es
    10
    16 February 2018
    excellent hotel and onsen!
    Beau Butler
    th
    5.8
    9 February 2018
    A ryokan for first time tourist in Japan
    My first impression at this hotel was pretty bad. The night shift reception guy who came to pick me up at the train station was so careless. He didn't even smile or greet me like any Japanese in the service hospitality normally do, and forget even to help me carry my luggages even he saw how struggling I was with my stuff. The breakfast looked visually well presented, but there was no attention to the taste. This ryokan is more for the first time tourist in Japan who would like experience the traditional hotel in Japan. This place is a bit too commercial and lack the sense of the true ryokan.
    The ryokan was quite old, but they had all the basic facilities the ryokans have. The futon was quite comfortable. They also had a humidifier which made the room more breathable when I turned on the heater to sleep. They have 'Pepper-Run', the robotic receptionist to entertain guests while waiting for the bus or check out, which was quite adorable. I like the small details at their ryokan that they have the praying area for muslim guests. Although I'm not muslim but I was impressed by their thoughtful service. They even put your name on your meal and your room or even shoe rack.
    MYRTO
    gr
    8.8
    29 January 2018
    Old facility, but good value for money
    Great first experience in a japanese style room! Convenient location within walking distance from shrines, warm room temperature necessary during a winter stay, great onsen indoor and outdoor baths, amazing dinner and breakfast!
    th
    10
    21 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Janice
    gb
    5.0
    16 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Francisco
    jp
    8.3
    11 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wong
    sg
    7.9
    1 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    se
    7.1
    11 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Shuyi Jiang
    au
    9.6
    9 December 2017
    Room was a little worn as its an older property
    Staff are lovely, enjoyed the onsen as well as dinner and breakfast. Heated futon, humidifier and heater made my stay as comfortable as possible
    Komed
    th
    10
    9 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Irina
    jp
    8.8
    7 December 2017
    The onsen was fantastic. The breakfast was very good.
    Olga
    cz
    10
    28 November 2017
    Excellent!
    Nice and helpful staff. Traditional rooms - big enough, with balcony with a nice view to the inner garden. Toilet was in the small lobby before the sleeping room. Futon matrases were very comfortable and warm. A little bit fresh but there was air condition and i could heat up the room to my needs. Breakfast sets (continental and japanese) big and delicious, i tried both. Bathrooms are traditional - indoor public bath, but the crown jewel is onsen - the best relax after long day walking around in the nature and enjoying the beauty of shrines. Excellent location of this ryokan to see the main shrines. You can also take a bus ride to the Kegan Fall from Nikko station. Highly recommended!
    Lee Kevin
    my
    10
    18 November 2017
    Very well planned and organise. Feel very warm
    Kathy
    jp
    8.3
    17 November 2017
    Autumn is the season to stay at Toukansou!
    The hair dryers in the onsen dressing room only put out weak cold air and should be replaced. There was one male staff (in his 30s?) who was unite unhelpful when I had a problem. The futons were also quite flat—loftier futons would have helped us all sleep better.
    Fantastic location and friendly staff.
    Van
    us
    5.0
    16 November 2017
    This is a smoking facility, the common room was smelly when smoking guests were there and the smoke even went to my room.
    Great location, walking distance to main attractions
    Sharon
    us
    7.9
    15 November 2017
    We were very happy to introduce our son and his beloved to a real Japanese experience at Nikko Tokan
    The ryokan is showing its age, but I could have said that 6 years ago, it really has not changed much. The public baths are good, the family (private) bath is quite basic.
    Nikko Tokanso has remained consistent over the years, they deliver a great location, easy walking distance to the Nikko World Heritage temples, and a real ryokan experience....at a very affordable price. They know what they are doing!
    Sergei
    ru
    8.3
    13 November 2017
    Perfect location with onsen and delicious meal
    No kettle in a room, but stuff brings you a thermos with hot water - it is not convenient Onsen a little bit small and boring, no steam room, no personal font, external onset covered with roof - no sky with stars can be seen
    Location is just perfect Free shuttle for Nokko station (reservation is needed) Traditional japanese dinner and breakfast - delicious Robot at lobby :) Kind and friendly stuff Stuff makes up and remove futons when you are out
    Megan
    au
    8.3
    12 November 2017
    Excellent location and food
    Even though we chose a non-smoking room (my sister is asthmatic), we could still smell the smoke from the area/rooms around us and found it hard to sleep one of the nights because of it.
    Excellent service and food
    Sophie
    au
    7.5
    9 November 2017
    Needs to be refurbished, mould and marks on walls etc
    Great location, food was fabulous
Loading reviews